Copyright: Guidelines for Teachers – one of the last project teams in which I participated while with Henrico County Public Schools (HCPS) was the one that developed this resource.  Our goal was to develop a clear, concise guide to fair use that emphasized what was permissible while still covering what is prohibited.  Please note that the assessment section (a Quia quiz) is only for HCPS employees.

Multicultural Studies Resources – private online space where MW faculty members can share and develop lists of texts and other resources for multicultural studies, and related teaching tips and lesson plans.

Teaching for Empowerment Toolkit – a private online space where MW faculty members can share and discuss rubrics, tip sheets, and lesson plans for empowering students with the skills they need to learn, decide, communicate, and lead. If you’re interested in contributing, Ms. Sellors or one of the FIRC teachers would be happy to send you an invitation so you can become a registered member.

Lesson Plans and Classroom Resources – Subscription Sources
These are available through school subscriptions set up by Mrs. Chappell. To obtain logins, please contact her or see the teacher passwords file in the library media center’s Faculty share folder (do not post these passwords on the Internet).

Atomic Learning – treasure chest of bite-sized tech learning videos to support both self-directed learning by teachers (see their tutorials) and integration into the classroom (see their learning accelerators), as well as text and videos about video storytelling
Quia – make online quizzes, surveys, and activities with this user-friendly tool

Lesson Plans and Classroom Resources – Open Sources

Annenberg Media for Teachers – sign up for a free account to get access to several high quality programs through Video On Demand
Apple Learning Interchange – social network of educators sharing ideas, lessons, and resources
EDSitement – lessons in the Humanities (from the NEH)
Educator’s Reference Desk – hosted by the Information Institute of Syracuse
GEM (Gateway to Educational Materials) – searchable database of lesson plans and other resources for teachers preK to community college level
Marco Polo (a.k.a. Thinkfinity) – searchable database of lesson plans and Internet-based classroom resources for teachers in grades 9-12
MERLOT – Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching – with the target audience of higher education
Slideshare – PowerPoints made by people for a variety of purposes – always preview for content and quality because there is a wide range represented
Teacher Tube – videos made by teachers for instructional purposes – always preview for content and quality since this can vary widely

Education Research and News – Subscription Sources

Access to the publications below requires our library’s user name and password for Thomson Gale. Stop by the library if you need this information.

Gifted Child Today – full-text access to current articles
Journal of Educational Research – full-text access to current articles
Journal of Secondary Gifted Education – full-text coverage delayed one year
Multimedia & Internet @Schools – full-text access to current articles
Phi Delta Kappan – full-text access to current articles
Searcher, Online, and Computers in Libraries – full-text access to publications for keeping up with the latest in online research tools and resources
Technology & Learning – full-text access to current articles

Education Research and News – Open Sources

Annie E. Casey Foundation’s Knowledge Center – reports and data reaching beyond education issues to focus on the overall welfare of children in the U.S.
ERIC – Educational Resources Information Center from the USDOE
National Center for Education Statistics – national statistics available online
Pew Research Center – “nonpartisan ‘fact tank’ that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world” – frequently conducts education or technology-related studies

Professional information
For areas in which the Regional Board has not adopted policies specific to MLWGS, the school falls under the policies and procedures of the Richmond Public Schools.

RPS Administrative Procedures
RPS School Board Bylaws and Policies

Professional organizations and government agencies
See your department chair and colleagues for organizations within your discipline.

National Education Association – membership organization
Richmond Education Association – local affiliate of VEA
Teacher Education and Licensure – a division of the VDOE
Virginia Department of Education
(VDOE) – oversees education in Virginia
Virginia Education Association – state affiliate of the NEA
U.S. Department of Education – source for research, statistics, and news about education and related legislation in Congress.

Borrowing and inter-library loan privileges at VCU

Teaching and related bookmarks on delicious
You’ll also want to check out the following tags in the library’s bookmark account (dragonlibrary) on delicious: teaching, lessonplans, courses, interactive, presentations, tools, videos, tutorials, collaborating, and sharing.

Advertisements