Disclaimer: The content of the web sites listed below is NOT controlled by MLWGS

General
Google Scholar – search tool for finding journal articles and other scholarly writing (not all results are free). Includes a Cited by feature that links to other articles that cite the found article. If you have a VCU e-ID, set your Scholar Preferences for the Library Search feature to VCU. This will create a link called Get it @ VCU Online! which connects you to the database (via VCU) that contains the journal. If you don’t have a VCU e-ID, pay attention to the name of the database in which the article is included.  In some cases, the article might be in a database to which we subscribe, such as JSTOR.

Directory of Open Access Journals – browseable list of scholarly online journals in several disciplines

Government Information
USA Search – U.S. government’s search interface. Go to “search in” (under Advanced search) to limit search to states or territories.
USA Portal – U.S. government’s web portal (USA_Search is at top right; news items and other resources in center)
ClustyGov – combines USA_Search with additional features
Congress – use “Thomas” from the Library of Congress to find legislation by bill number, sponsor, or key words
DefenseLink – search interface for the Department of Defense
FREE – Federal Resources for Educational Excellence – web resources for which development was/is supported by federal funds
Google UncleSam -searches state and federal government information
Our Documents – 100 milestone documents from the National Archives

Health, Life Sciences, and Medicine
BioMed Central – database of peer-reviewed biomedical research articles that are open access (other journal content may not be free).
Healthfinder for Teens – information about a variety of health topics from the National Health Information Center
Highwire Press – This database from Stanford University Libraries indexes scholarly articles in the life sciences, including over one million free, full-text articles. View full-text for clickable reference list; save PDF for offline viewing.
Medline Plus – vast virtual library of health articles, interactive tutorials, and videos from the National Library of Medicine
Public Library of Science (PLoS) – database of peer-reviewed open access journals focusing on the life sciences and medicine
PubMed Central – National Library of Medicine’s archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, providing access to many free full-text articles (click on FREE tab to view search results for which full-text is free).
Science.gov – search portal for science information from government agencies
Scientific Commons – the goal of this online project hosted by the University of St. Gallen is to become the largest communication space for finding and sharing “scientific knowledge products”
TeensHealth – physician/expert-reviewed health information site designed by the Center for Children’s Health Media

Physics, Engineering, Mathematics, and Technology
Arxiv – Archive of e-prints (papers accepted for academic publication) in computer science, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, physics, quantitative biology, and statistics. Hosted by Cornell.
Citeseer – computer & information science database (some content is NOT free)
PhysMath Central – database of peer-reviewed physics, engineering, and math research articles that are open access (other journal content may not be free).
PLoS Computational Biology – official journal of the International Society for Computational Biology
PLoS ONE – part of the Public Library of Science. See subject list on bottom left to select articles in computer science, mathematics, or physics.
Science.gov – search portal for science information from government agencies
Scientific Commons – the goal of this online project hosted by the University of St. Gallen is to become the largest communication space for finding and sharing “scientific knowledge products”
TechXtra: Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing – Cross-searches 31 online collections. Developed and maintained by a team at Heriot Watt University. Much of the content found is available for free, but not all of it.

Finding_Tools bookmarks on delicious
You’ll also want to check out the following tags in the library’s bookmark account (dragonlibrary) on delicious: archives, databases, directories, portals, and searchtools. These are grouped together in the Finding_Tools bundle near the top of the tag list. The books and ebooks tags may also be of interest to you.