Access to these resources from outside the school building requires a password/user name (unless they are free resources). Please stop by the library if you need this information.

Access Science – fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill’s Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition, including topical and biographical articles, images, videos, illustrations, Flash animations, science news, and AP study guides for Physics C, Biology, Chemistry, and Environmental Science.

Columbia International Affairs Online (a.k.a. CIAO) – More than 180 leading academic and research institutions, publishers, government agencies, and journals worldwide contribute to this international relations database which contains over 450,000 pages of scholarly research from 1991 onward including working papers, policy briefs, e-books, journal articles, and case studies.

Gale Resource Collection (main menu) – Comprehensive collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference books, as well as primary resources and multimedia. You may use PowerSearch to cross-search several Gale databases, including Opposing Viewpoints, Academic OneFile, and a customized Virtual Reference Library (including a subcollection for We The People). Our subscription also features collections that can be accessed and searched individually, such as Resource Centers for Biographies, U.S. History and World History, The Making of Modern Law database, and the Declassified Documents Collection.  Download the AccessMyLibrary app (the green School version) to search our Gale databases on your iPhone or iPod Touch.

Highwire Press – From Stanford University Libraries, this database focuses on the life sciences and hosts a repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content which includes nearly 2 million free articles (most made available 12-24 months after publication) and links to other scholarly articles available for a fee. Many articles include a visual citation map of the reference list (sample map).  To set up alerts and designate favorite journals, create a MyHighwire account (click on tab above search box).

JSTOR – Multidisciplinary archive of 700+ scholarly journals available in full-text. Use Advanced Search for the most flexible search options. [JSTOR tips] Important Access Note – On April 4, 2008, JSTOR updated their search interface and deactivated all existing user names and passwords. Please stop by the library or go to the library’s student share folder to obtain updated access instructions.

Lexis-Nexis Scholastic – Contains five modules: News (including transcripts and foreign language news), Legal Research (federal and state court cases, laws, and law reviews), Legislation (federal and state bill text, bill tracking reports, and speeches from both houses of Congress), Statistics, and Links.

Literary Reference Center (works best with IE) – combines plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, articles, essays, book reviews, and biographies from major respected reference works, books, and over 420 literary journals with author interviews, full-text classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and over 7100 classic texts. Our subscription includes Columbia Granger’s Poetry. You may exclude these results from your LRC search in Advanced Search – Additional Databases OR open it separately which gives you more options in Columbia Granger’s Advanced Search, such as search by first or last line, or by anthology category.  To search these databases on your mobile device, click HERE , login, select EBSCO Mobile, and bookmark the search page (or add it to your mobile device’s home page).

NetLibrary – collection of e-books encompassing a broad range of topics and viewpoints about those topics – everything from technology how-to manuals to books with particular perspectives on contemporary issues (be on the lookout for bias).  To access books from home, you need to set up a free account while at school (by clicking on Create a Free Account in the upper right of the main page).  All books may be viewed in their entirety; however, only one user at a time may view a book.  Note: If your computer tries to open each page of the ebook as a separate PDF, watch this screencast to see what setting to change in Acrobat Reader.

Project MUSE (at school access only) – Database of 300+ scholarly journals from the humanities available in full-text. Unlike JSTOR, for which the focus is archival, MUSE focuses on current coverage. Use Advanced Search for the most flexible search options. [MUSE tips].

PubMed Central – U.S. National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) digital archive of free biomedical and life sciences journal literature. If you need full-text articles and don’t have a VCU eID to use their version of PubMed, then use this one. For best results, select Advanced Search and then open the LIMITS tab so that you can apply appropriate limiters to your search (such as limiting to Research & Review articles).  To save searches and links to found articles, create a MyNCBI account (link in upper right once you click Advanced Search).

Open Sources for Research – search tools and databases for finding articles, government documents, reports, and similar sources on the open web (only some articles found with/in these sources are accessible for free).

Salem Health, Salem History, and Salem Science – databases from Salem Press which provide access to the digitized content of Salem Press reference books in the library’s print collection.  Titles include Forensic Science and Global Warming in Salem Science; Psychology and Mental Health in Salem Health; and in Salem History, American Immigration, decades resources for 1950-1999, and History of American Business

Science Direct (at school access only) – our Freedom Collection subscription provides access to full-text articles of recent research (NOT archival coverage) from over 2000 scholarly journals, usually the current issue and up to four years of back files.  For a list of journal titles and the years included, consult the Freedom Collection journal list.  If you try to access a journal issue that is not included, you will be prompted to log on.  This indicates that the article is not included in our subscription.  If you have an individual VCU eID, you may use it to access VCU’s subscription, which is more extensive than ours.  To save searches, links to articles, and set up alerts, create a personal account (follow link in upper right).

Scientific American and Scientific American Mind Online via Nature.com – On campus, you can access the rich content of these publications, including full text of articles and any related multimedia content.  For off-campus access, click HERE and enter our school password (available in the MW Library).

VCU Databases – accessible to all students from the computers inside VCU libraries, and from off-campus to students in VCU dual enrollment courses who have a valid VCU eID username and password. Even if you don’t have a VCU eID, you can use VCU’s Journal Finder to see if a particular journal is available through a subscription database.

Find It Virginia Databases – although the Gale databases on this menu are integrated into the menu of our Gale Resource Collection, logging into this site with your public library card will connect you with ELibrary and any additional databases to which your public library subscribes (if applicable).

Finding_Tools bookmarks on delicious
You’ll also want to check out the following tags in the library’s bookmark account (dragonlibrary) on delicious: archives, databases, directories, portals, and searchtools. These are grouped together in the Finding_Tools bundle near the top of the tag list. The books and ebooks tags may be of interest too.

Advertisements