Access to these resources from outside the school building requires a password/user name. Please stop by the library if you need this information.
Gale Resource Collection (main menu) - Comprehensive collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference books, as well as primary resources and multimedia. You may use PowerSearch to cross-search several Gale databases, including a customized Virtual Reference Library and Opposing Viewpoints. Our subscription also features additional collections, such as Resource Centers for Biographies, Literature, Science, U.S. History and World History, as well as the Declassified Documents Collection and The Making of Modern Law database.
JSTOR - Multidisciplinary archive of 700+ scholarly journals available in full-text. Use Advanced Search for the most flexible search options. [JSTOR tips] Important Access Note - On April 4, 2008, JSTOR updated their search interface and deactivated all existing user names and passwords. Please stop by the library or go to the library’s student share folder to obtain the new access instructions.
Lexis-Nexis Scholastic - Contains five modules: News (including transcripts and foreign language news), Legal Research (federal and state court cases, laws, and law reviews), Legislation (federal and state bill text, bill tracking reports, and speeches from both houses of Congress), Statistics, and Links.
Literary Reference Center (works best with IE) - combines plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, articles, essays, book reviews, and biographies from major respected reference works, books, and over 420 literary journals with author interviews, full-text classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and over 7100 classic texts. Our subscription includes Columbia Granger’s Poetry and MLA International Bibliography. You may exclude either from your LRC search in Advanced Search - Additional Databases OR open each separately (this gives you more options in Columbia Granger’s Advanced Search, such as search by first or last line, or by anthology category).
Project MUSE (at school access only) - Database of 300+ scholarly journals from the humanities available in full-text. Unlike JSTOR, for which the focus is archival, MUSE focuses on current coverage. Use Advanced Search for the most flexible search options. [MUSE tips].
Open Sources for Research - search tools and databases for finding articles, government documents, reports, and similar sources on the open web (only some articles found with/in these sources are accessible for free).
Scientific American Archive Online (works best with IE) - Online archive of Scientific American articles (from 1993 to the present) that can be browsed or searched. Articles are in PDF format with full-color illustrations and graphs. Coverage includes special issues.
VCU Databases - accessible to all students from the computers inside VCU libraries, and from off-campus to students in VCU dual enrollment courses who have a valid VCU eID username and password. Even if you don’t have a VCU eID, you can use VCU’s Journal Finder to see if a particular journal is available through a subscription database.
Find It Virginia Databases - although the Gale databases on this menu are integrated into the menu of our Gale Resource Collection, logging into this site with your public library card will connect you with ELibrary and any additional databases to which your public library subscribes (if applicable).
Finding_Tools bookmarks on delicious
You’ll also want to check out the following tags in the library’s bookmark account (dragonlibrary) on delicious: archives, databases, directories, portals, and searchtools. These are grouped together in the Finding_Tools bundle near the top of the tag list. The books and ebooks tags may be of interest too.

No comments
Comments feed for this article